Skip to main content
Boom Calendar for Grown-ups ~ Curated for Us @ Fifty Plus
Delta Theta Sigma swag
Share this article

University of Georgia President Jere W. Morehead has approved the installation of campus markers at the Tate Student Center to recognize the nine historically Black fraternities and sororities that are members of the National Pan-Hellenic Council. The project will be completed this Spring.

The nine member organizations include the fraternities, Alpha Phi Alpha, Kappa Alpha Psi, Omega Psi Phi, Phi Beta Sigma, and Iota Phi Theta. The sororities are Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, Zeta Phi Beta, and Sigma Gamma Rho.

Morehead acted on a recommendation by UGA’s Presidential Task Force on Race, Ethnicity, and Community.

Fast Facts

  • The Pan Hellenic Council, known as the “Divine Nine” was founded May 10, 1930, at Howard University.
  • AKA Sorority was founded at Howard University in 1908. It has over 300,000 members. Famous members include Toni Morrison, Wanda Sykes, Maya Angelou, Alicia Keys, Coretta Scott King, Rosa Parks.
  • Delta Sigma Theta was founded at Howard in 1913. It has over 200,000 members. Famous members include Shirley Chisholm, Barbara Jordan, Lena Horne, Soledad O’Brien, Aretha Franklin.
  • Zeta Phi Beta was founded in 1920 at Howard, and now has over 100,000 members. Famous members include the late Esther Rolle and Sarah Vaughan, Dionne Warwick, Minnie Riperton, Gwendolyn Brooks.
  • Sigma Gamma Rho was organized in Indianapolis, Indiana by seven school teachers. They became an incorporated national collegiate sorority in 1929 at Butler University, a predominantly white campus. They now number 100,000 members. Famous members include Hattie McDaniel, Martha Reeves, Kelly Price, Vanessa Bell Armstrong.

Related: Black Sororities: Sisterhood is Power

Join the discussion!

Your comment will be reviewed before it appears here, so please be patient.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.